Why?

Why am I not as important
As that which I carry?
When did I stop becoming
A human being?
What have I been so far
That you would curse me
Abandon me And kill me?
For the sake of a tumor
A node, a thing within
That for the life of me
I cannot yet comprehend
This awful portend
Of things changing
A mistake made
in a backyard alley
Lust filled and quickly hasty
There was no thought of tomorrow
And here, I lie amongst you
Broken, trampled on…
Bleeding in a sewer
Because you blocked my path
To getting proper care
And instead pushed me
To a quack with a hanger
In yet another dingy alley…
Was my life of such little worth
That it was sacrificed
For the one I can no longer
defend against all of you?
I had hoped for better
Among people I grew up with
Surely I, too, had a right to life.
Choose life, choose me…
Allow me the choice to live as well…

RhB 20122208 1103A

Leave a Reply

