KPOP and me – CNBLUE MinHyuk

My forays into KPop has a few notables. And it started with CNBLUE.

Arguably, I’ve always liked Kang Minhyuk. His acting is pretty good as well. Loved the song he did in Heartstrings – Byeol.  Ah… Star. It was, at that time, quite innocent and the song reflected that. But in CNBLUE, the most notable of the four members is dynamically voiced leader and lead singer Jung Yonghwa.
Then this drama came out called “Entertainer.”

image

Second episode in…and you hear Kang Minhyuk’s clear vocals.

image

I’ve always liked guys with those upturned eyes. And one reason why Kang Minhyuk was just too cute not to notice even if he was drumming in the back. 

One of CNBLUE’s songs I have in my playlist is called “Teardrops in the Rain.” Minhyuk and their other lead vocalist, Lee Jonghyun (another guy with a voice suited for ballads), sang this song. The one I have is of Kang Minhyuk. It’s entirely in English.

Lee Jonghyun’s version has the hard ESS sound as if his tongue cannot curve through the English words properly. Minhyuk’s voice though… It curves through the words just fine, giving the song what it needs… The right amount of longing, of soft echoey whispered flow that evokes the thoughts of rain and longing.

And here again, Minhyuk’s vocals shine. I cannot wait to see the next episodes of the drama.

I should note that in this particular scene when he sings, he reminded me of another KPop singer I’m currently watching. Jung Leo of VIXX. Must be those upturned eyes.

I love the boys of CNBLUE, but this one. God, sometimes, I wish this one was my son.

Leave a Reply

