A Spill of things TVX2

image

So, I was reading through the list of Yunho’s songs on his new album,  U-KNOW Y.
I couldn’t help but laugh when I read that one of the titles was “Tattoos and High Heels.”  Well because I know of a certain tattooed person with a height complex.  Not that the person is very short, but the person is rather shorter than… erm… Yunho and his current partner.  Just saying. 
Now, looking for translations to this song has not been forthcoming yet.  And I have no idea what it’s saying.  I don’t think that he’s the one who wrote the lyrics either so I can’t gauge his… content.  But the title totally made me laugh.  Totally.  July 8th as well… Is there a significance?  How about SOMEONE’s 100th day?    Let’s not get SOOO obvious, right?
Ah.  And considering that Jaejoong had put out a mini album before titled Y as if asking a question.  Is this Yunho’s answer… U-KNOW Y.  The thing is, when it was just Jaejoong’s mini album.  We wondered if Y meant “Yunho”.  Because after all, he had first put out “I”. I’m not the only one thinking this either. I’ve seen the pictures of Y and U Know Y juxtaposed next to each other.

image
 
So, since we’re on it.  Viki has uploaded episodes of “I Order You”.  While the character that Yunho plays is a jerk (and he plays the jerk well enough), I can’t help but think… “What do people see in this guy?”  I mean face wise.  Something about his face is NOT handsome!  And he’s gained weight, which is why some of the comments were about watching his ‘man-boobs’ more than watching the show.  I noticed that he was more… pudgy in the MV teasers for his first song “Burning Down.”
image

I think this is his most comfortable role yet… still though, he’s unable to distinguish between when his character is supposedly acting.  His character is brusque, cold, abrupt that even his subordinates slink away after a certain look from him.  But yet, there are moments when he’s sweet (because he’s acting nice).  Now, the problem is that usually when someone does this, there is a tell… a small knowing smirk and not a genuine smile.  So, this part, innocent Yunho probably does not know of and cannot properly convey.  Lady killer he probably is not, despite the tabloids.    Jang Dong Gun could play this role real well, I think. 
However!!!!!  The girl’s reactions in this show covers up this subtle acting foible.   And she does great because the reactions are over the top!  And that’s what keeps me watching.

Although, I swear, I don’t understand why a lot of people say he’s good looking.  At a certain angle, I guess, but when you’re faced with him like that… I don’t know.  He’s just not…  Daniel Day Kim.  Or even Kim Woo Bin. I think that Yunho looks handsome in profile. Full on front and center… Ummm…
The eyes… Yunho’s eyes when he smiles genuinely… Yes.
image

 
I think it’s personal preference.  I don’t think JYP is good looking either.  Too much alcohol and tobacco has totally ruined that… 

There are plenty of HANDSOME South Korean actors.  Jang Dong Gun is one.  Lee Phillips also.  And some of their leading men are just… boys next door, good looking sort of, pretty ordinary, run-of-the-mill cute.  Just not devastatingly handsome.   
I’m not even poking at the idols because they’re mostly younger generation.  I’m waiting until they fill out and become men.  Although the boys of 2PM could possibly be contenders there.  Kim Woo Bin is definitely HANDSOME, hands down! 

Then there are the pretty men.  Pretty.  Not Handsome.  Jang Geun Suk is pretty.  G-Dragon for all his brass is pretty.  TOP is Handsome, but still… young… nothing like James Bond (think Pierce Brosnan).  Seungri… he’s the boy next door.  Taeyang is the boy next door that is handsome beyond belief.  He could be the one that makes all the girls in the youth group sigh.  But he’s an approachable handsome. 
 
Jung Yunho… sometimes, he is handsome… depending on who takes the pictures. 
I hate to say it but he was much more handsome juxtaposed against a pretty member… and it’s not Changmin.
 
image

Now, Changmin… hmmm… He’s not handsome either.  He WAS cute.  He’s grown into someone… ummm… I don’t know… He’s grown cold.  There is a certain coldness in Changmin that wasn’t there before.  And it hasn’t dissipated.  The mischief is still there and the know it all attitude.  But when he stands alone or even with Yunho, there is a certain coldness in his demeanor.  And not even his beloved hyung Yunho can take it away.  Now this role in “I Order You” Changmin would be able to pull off the subtleties more so than Yunho has.  Either way, it’s a learning experience for Yunho. 
I think that Changmin is a much better actor than Jung Yunho.  Although Changmin can’t really dance as fluidly as Yunho. 
 
Am I obsessed with Jung Yunho?  Yes.  And Kim Jaejoong. 
 
Maybe if they came out like Nate Berkhus and Jeremy Brent I wouldn’t be so obsessed.  However, I see something that others are telling me is not true.  Huh.  So, I keep watching them for signs of… well… letting go… and I haven’t seen it.  Not yet.  Even if they get married for eff’s sakes to girls.  I don’t think I’ll see the kind of… oneness… of wholeness… as I’ve seen when YunJae was together. 
 
I know I criticize Yunho a lot.  Perhaps because I see the potential.  And I’m waiting.  And waiting.  What am I waiting for?  Who knows!  I’ll know it when I see it.  It’s not that I even hate the boy.  It’s not that.  Maybe I’m a… tsundere.  Ha ha ha!  I’m teasing the man I happen to like to the point that he cries.  LOL!  Yunho’s crying face does garner loads of love, after all.  I just didn’t like the context in which they dropped religiously in TNWM’s journal.  BUT really, that was the writer’s fault and not Yunho who was just doing as he was bid.  I hope.  🙂
 
image

The thing is, I like Kim Jaejoong.  Him, I don’t criticize as much.  Then again… what can I criticize about him?  He’s seriously a pretty man.  With Triangle… oooh… he became… WOW!!!!  So, Kim Jaejoong I treasure.  After all, his voice, angry or sad is just too… emotionally expressive.  It draws you in. 
 
Jung Yunho, I tease. 
 
If he improves, Yeay!!!!  And if he doesn’t, I’m sure I’ll be that much more disappointed.  I really do have high hopes for Jung Yunho.  I really am a tsundere to this boy, ain’t I? 
 
The news states that Changmin will be enlisting soon before the end of the year, so that after two years, there will be a comeback of the two.  Do you really believe that? 
 
I don’t know.  I don’t think so.  Two years is a long time.  When is their contracts up?  Did they sign up again?  I’m wondering.  TVXQ is SM’s current cash cow.  EXO for all their hype isn’t as lucrative as TVXQ even in their reincarnated state as a duo.  But with both of them gone in the military, EXO will start filling up the gap.  There is just one thing.  There are not as many teenyboppers as there was once in SK and Japan.  China is lucrative, but with EXO’s Chinese members dwindling… well…
 
The economics of K-POP is incredible.  And requires the cooperation of the country’s political machines.
 
In the meantime, while I’m waiting for all of them to come back as 5, I’ll go and polish up my shooting skills.  I have yet to take the bow and arrow out of the box.  LOL!  Now, where do I go and get some hay bales for targets?  And because I’m evil like that, I’ll need a necessary target.  Whose face should I put up? 
 
Park Shin Hye.  Don’t ask me why.

20 thoughts on “A Spill of things TVX2

  1. @Rhb
    Hello again. My daughter and I finished watching I Order You and here’s what we have to say. The female lead is Not a good actress. She over-acts too much and her over exaggeration is quite cringeworthy. Don’t say it’s because of her character or the director. There’s no excuse. I saw some comments saying she is a mediocre actress. Jung Yunho had a little trouble with the eye acting in the beginning, but after that he became more convincing. For most of the drama, his acting is good overall. His acting is much better than the female lead. He brings out his character without over-acting and without under-acting. I am watching Scholar Who Walks the Night. I think Shim Changmin and Jung Yunho are on the same level (acting-wise). Neither guy is better than the other. They both did well in their new dramas but they still need more practice. I don’t think actor Kim Woo Bin is handsome at all. I think Jung Yunho is more handsome and I like his manly appeal.

    • LOL! Well, we will just have to differ in our opinions on Kim Woo Bin and Jung Yunho. At the moment, he doesn’t appeal. I loved him back in Yawang. And a leaner Jung Yunho… God, just kill me already… Would be my reaction. This one though… Umm… Well… I really shouldn’t be one to talk considering I ain’t Angie Jolie, but as I said, this role is more comfortable for him. It shows in the ease he exhibits. The reason I think Changmin is better is because of Mimi… The drama. In truth, most idol actors need more acting training. So … Well, there you go… But there are some notable exceptions. Im Siwan being one.
      Of course the reactions of the girl is supposed to be over the top! It’s a romantic COMEDY! All Asian comedies are waaaay over the top!!! The formula hasn’t changed much either!
      However, I encourage you and your daughter to keep watching the KDramas! There are some good ones out there! Misaeng is one I would recommend you watch. It kept me on my toes and tugged at my heartstrings. And no members of Dong Bang Shin Ki was there to steal my reason.

      • Thank you for the recommendations, but I’m an ahjumma who has been watching so many Korean dramas for a very long time. I’ve seen way more than the ones you’ve suggested. Just because the girl’s character is over the top is Not an excuse for her to over-act. It’s painful to watch. Jun Ji Hyun’s character is crazy in Man From the Stars but her acting is great. I never felt like she painfully over-acted at all (unlike the girl in I Order You). Jun Ji Hyun is a talented award winning A-list actress. On the contrary, Jin Se Yeon, Han Ga In, and Go Sung Hee are the Worst actresses I’ve ever seen.
        I saw Shim Changmin’s acting in Mimi, and I thought he was a bad actor. From a non-fan’s point of view, I think you should give Jung Yunho a break and don’t be too hard on him (just my opinion). As a mother, I remind myself to give my daughter a break and don’t be too tough on her.

      • A good point…. But although I love my kiddos… They also say I’m just as “critical” of them as I am of Jung Yunho. LOL!!!! They’ve chucked it down to me wanting the best for them. So, if you put it in that context, I …sigh… Must LOVE Jung Yunho to pieces!!!! LOL!!! I swear, I feel like breaking out Sting’s Ghost Story here. Didn’t I admit as much in my article? I’m just like that boy that used to pull your pigtails to say he liked you or gave you a frog for a present, mud and all. A tsundere… LOL! A word my kiddo gave me. The older one used a baser cant, but… Means the same… I would be the S in SnM. Of course, well… A tied up Yunho would be interesting, but I’d send that package elsewhere. Someone would be very interested in that!!!!! 😛

        I guess her acting is understandable for me. I’ve watched too many animes, Chinese movies, Filipino movies/shows, occasional Bollywood ones, and some Mexican drama… KDrama is really new to me. Maybe if I see her in a new show… As a drama actress I’d consider rating it. Over the top acting for something like this is something I personally expect. One of the reasons I can’t quite get American Comedy. It’s either slapstick in your face, or cerebral… Anime… That’s what I was thinking her acting was like. An Anime character. For me it worked.
        I like Changmin in MiMi. He expressed his charater well, I thought. I’m also an old person… However, I concede… You would probably know more of KDrama than I would. All of this is fairly new to me. Blogging, KPOP, KDRama… Etc… If it wasn’t for the internet taking me from Japanese Anime and shows over to KDrama… I would have overlooked it entirely.

      • I have seen SPY already. The male lead Jaejoong is a good actor. Everyone else did well except for the female lead Go Sung Hee’s bad acting. She is very bland, too wooden, awkward blank eye stare, and poor line delivery. Everybody said her acting is horrendous in The Night Watchman. I’ve seen different actresses in other Korean historical dramas, but she is the worst ever. In her new drama My Beautiful Bride, she got criticized for bad acting too (No improvement either compared to SPY). Stinking up 3 dramas in a row is bad enough.
        I heard Jung Yunho already enlisted in the army. Perhaps, he will lose weight and get back his abs and ‘sexy body’ that his fans love.

      • That’s my problem with SPY. Jaejoong was too distracting. 😊 I could not even pay attention to her! Fangirling each Jaejoong moment was … Even my kiddo said for me to leave. LOL! As for Yunho, I’m sure he is. I have a feeling he binges when he’s depressed. Hah! I like seeing him healthy, but he was looking too healthy. Cute… Sort of. LOL!
        On the other hand, his skinny counterpart, Kim Jaejoong, looks and sounds healthier than he’s ever been since 2010.
        I should explain that Jaejoong and Yunho used to be in the same group. And that’s why I’m a bit hard on Yunho and Changmin. Together as five…. Oh, my effing Gawd!!!! They were all very good! And I would worship at the altar of their togetherness, but 2010 changed all that. And Jaejoong has not been the same. Neither had Yunho. Er… All of them had not been the same. So… Yes. It tarnished my… Er…view. I want Yunho and Changmin in the same league acting wise as JYJ. I do. In my mind, it’s the only way they can get back together. Not on stage, but on a silver screen. So, I NEED Jung Yunho to up his game. Faster!!!! LOL!

      • Since I’m Not a K-pop fan, I don’t know much about the group’s breakup but thanks for letting me know. Let’s just hope Jung Yunho and Shim Changmin will improve even more. When they return from the army, hopefully they will get the main leading role for a full length big hit drama and show solid good acting. As for the girl in SPY…see? Even you can see clearly that her acting is Not good. I can’t help but laugh when I heard a few people say her acting is ‘good’ in My Beautiful Bride…LOL You should watch this drama…..You will enjoy the good suspenseful action packed story. Also, a non-biased person like you would see clearly that she is still such a bad actress. Her acting in My Beautiful Bride is very bland, too wooden, the blank stare, and stiff line delivery….just like in SPY.

      • Huh… As long as no Dong Bang Shin Ki man is in the drama or anyone from CNBLUE. Because there will be no way I can rate anyone’s acting then. LOL!

      • My daughter read the news and told me 2 things. Jung Yunho became team captain of the 26th division soldiers after just 3 weeks. He received the Best Recruit Award at the training completion ceremony after 5 weeks. Since you’re a fan of the K-pop boy band, I thought you’d like to hear this good news.

    • Ah, also Triangle. Though the story moves slowly in the beginning. SPY is another one, pay closer attention to the mother than her beautiful son… 😃

      • Proud of the boy!!!! Really!!!! This is my expectation of all five of them. Of course, Kim Jaejoong set the bar for all of them going into active duty.😄 He was given 1st in his division. I’m expecting Changmin to get up there as well. And Junsu when he goes. Because Yuchun cannot go in active duty, he will enter as a civilian servant. Active duty may harm him more because of his asthma.

      • I know an active duty soldier serves 21 months and public service would be 24 months. I heard Shim Changmin will be a conscripted police officer. Will he be required to serve for 21 or 24 months?

      • I think he will serve 21. Because training to be a police officer still requires quite a bit. Yuchun will most likely do some kind of desk job.

      • Kim Jaejoong also got the Best Recruit Award. Jung Yunho not only received this award but he also got promoted to Private First Class after just 5 weeks. That’s fast and impressive. Good luck to the other members of the boy band.

Leave a Reply

