KPOP and me – YunJae – a rant

 

image

YunJae.
This portmanteau of Kim Jaejoong and Jung Yunho’s names seems to evoke many emotions.  Is it because the world sees in them the modern version of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet?  Or as it were, Yunmeo and Jaeliet?  And their parents and companies the ones that drive them apart?  SMontagues and Capulets-Jes?  My God!  It actually works!  Not that I’m saying C-Jes was the monster of a parent here.  For the Yunmeo and Jaeliet scenario, this works.  🙂
What is it about the two that makes one think they belong together?  What did we see that says they should be together?  Was it those looks?  That hug in MKMF 2008?  Oooh, I swear, I still get goose bumps looking at that particular clip!  It’s one of my favorite images!  Was it the shy, “I love you, Yunho…” from way back in the day instigated by one crazy kid named Shim Changmin? The way they always seem to live in each other’s pockets?  Or the gentle way that Yunho smiles at Jaejoong or the bright smile Jaejoong seems to get whenever he’s around Yunho? Or the awkward, ‘Should I or shouldn’t I?’ question that flits over Jung Yunho’s face as he contemplates feeding Kim Jaejoong with a skewered treat? Was it the skinship? I don’t really know.  But, try as I would like to, I do not see them with anyone else.   I’ve read so many accounts from YunJae shippers and those that disagree.  I’ve read many articles on “Are they?  Aren’t they?” line of questioning.  And watched many videos.  Too many. What is it about Kim Jaejoong’s sad songs that makes me think it has to be about Jung Yunho?  Or that the one and only song that is legitimately acknowleged as Jung Yunho’s own composition and lyrics, “November with Love”, has to be an answer to one of Kim Jaejoong’s emotionally charged other songs?
And those fan fictions!  Holy crap!  Okay, some of them are a little far-fetched even for me(MPreg?  Man, I wish that was true, but seriously?), but the others…  Oh, hell!  I feel like I’m reading about their lives in many dimensions and across time and through the folds of the tesseract (Note:  This is from a Wrinkle in Time.). Albeit they are infused with the limitations of the author’s own culture and experience (some are soooo limited that you can only roll your eyes at them. I mean, waiting until marriage for THAT! Does U-Know Yunho and Hero Jejung really look like the kind of people who would wait until after marriage?  Especially in Korea?  Well, right on, then…). 
 
(An aside:  There is one LiveJournal site that I really like.  Wish she’d update her story ‘Love in the Ice’ faster.  Beeswaxing is a fan fic writer with an interesting prose.  She has a story called Sleeping Beauty in which Jae gets pregnant (MPreg).  And while this really doesn’t mesh with my idea of okay, she writes the story so prettily that even I can believe in this alternate universe.  Her other verse of ICE and The Tattoist, those two I really liked.  Couldn’t put it down!  I think I had stayed up all night reading them that I only had two hours sleep in one day and went to work still!  Needless to say, I took a 30 min nap during lunch.)
 
Then there are the fan service other “pairings” out there, but for the life of me, I can’t understand why these “pairings” do not sit well with me.  I do not care for HoMin.  Or JaeChun.  Why?  Because I see these pairings as more brotherly than anything else.  But YunJae or even JaeHo, these two, I can definitely see them as a romantic pair.  So reading about Changmin and Yunho getting married in a fan fic makes me wrinkle my brows.  Same thing with Jaejoong and Yuchun getting hitched.  I sometimes feel like I’m breaking out in hives.  I totally cannot understand why these kind of stories bother me.  It’s fiction, right?  But the images of the people are just not correct together.  At least, in my limited mind they aren’t, which is probably why I cringe and break out in hives. (Which is why I apologize to beeswaxing.  I CANNOT read The Trophy Wife verse.  Two of the pairings that make me break out in hives is there!!!!  JaeChun and HoMin….  It makes me cringe just thinking about the dynamics there… Aaarrgghhhh!  Surprisingly, I was okay with MinSu in the ending of The Tattoist.  Although I usually don’t see them as paired as in my head, Yuchun and Junsu pairs quite well.)
And why is it that even now after 4 years of not being together, there is that niggling hope (perhaps it’s just me) that somewhere, sometime, in some way, these two would find their way to each other in that romantic way and not as ‘brothers’ and ‘best friends’?  Or that if it’s not in this lifetime, they’ll somehow find each other again in another one with a happier ending than what is given them now?  But in this lifetime, why is there a feeling, that having met each other, Kim Jaejoong and Jung Yunho will never be whole without the other?  They’ll go through the motions of living, but within themselves, there will be a void no drink, no other person, no pursuits can ever fill.  And that, while we all go through it, seems like such a tragedy.  That these two souls that seem fated cannot come together because of emotional baggage, the ways of the world, and the society in which they find themselves in. 
But really, why?  Why do they seem to go together like white on rice?  Like ketchup and hotdog?  Like hamburger and fries?  Like coffee and cream?  Like hot chocolate and marshmallows?  They’re okay alone, but better together.  No, wait.  Together, they seem much more special, more than the sum of their parts. 
And so why?  Why is it that this particular pairing seem to linger in fans’ minds?  What is it about the two of them together that seems soooooo… I don’t know… right?  I’d like someone to answer.  It’d be nice to know, because for the life of me, I don’t know, but I can’t seem to look away either.  Why are they so fascinating together?  Is it because we speculate as to whether they’re together or not?  If they were together or not?  I mean, there’s HoMin and I don’t give a… about that pairing… There’s SiChul? That pairing and I don’t have any inclination to read about them or find out about this.  Although Siwon looks very good and certainly, Heech is a very pretty man, still… There is nothing like YunJae in KPop that I’ve come across.  What the hell are they?  And why do they seem so perfect together? And why are they so perfect that they inspire crap loads of stories and pictures like the one above?

17 thoughts on “KPOP and me – YunJae – a rant

  1. First? Why? You deserve love for such marvelous essays you have here. 😦
    Anyway, I’m not the type of person to comment a lot but yours is an exception. I find your thoughts about yunjae so appealing and interesting. I read all of your posts and I never did that before. And with that, you suddenly brought up my interest and undying questions I have in mind (some of those, you already brought up).
    I can relate to this post especially the last paragraph. I’m having the same feelings too. 😦
    I’ve been inactive since 2013 and I’m moving on. Cassiopeia has been my home for 3 years but I cannot stay there anymore. Too many issues and fanwars. I’ve grown tired of it. -___-
    I used to be a hardcore yunjae shipper too but just like you I think they are “finished” though I still keep thinking whether they are real or not. At some point, I believe they are/ were real but there are times that I think they aren’t/weren’t real. It’s sad to think the latter because I think and feel they are specially made for each other. That’s really weird though. There is just an indescribable feeling of happiness whenever I see them together ( I hate that feeling because it overrides my logical reasoning).Though I don’t want to hear about them anymore, I miss them that’s why I stumbled on your site.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. :))

    • Thank you for commenting. I just recently stumbled into KPop, seriously. So there is no way I can say I’m a Cassie. But I do like people who overcome great odds to stand in the limelight. And Kpop , I’m finding, is littered with them. Song wise, I like JYJ more than the current TVXQ. And one of these days, I’ll post a flame soul mate and regular soul mate article to explain YunJae, er, when I sort it out myself. 🙂 As of right now, all I see is a broken Jaejoong and a Yunho who doesn’t smile with his eyes. I’m waiting for all five of them to announce that they’re going to the military. I think the military might allow them to grow and stabilize their brokenness. And in all this, Changmin is a wild card. I’ve been thinking about Changmin’s role a lot. And I’m not liking what I see. I’m also very very attached to the thought that there is more than meets the eye to the lawsuit debacle. I really think its a conspiracy.

      Thank you so much for your interest. I’m happy that a Cassie found something to think about in my articles. I didn’t know if it was interesting at all to people who knew of KPop before I did.

      • Oohh… So DBSK/TVXQ&JYJ (too many names…-__-. sorry, I don’t know how should I address them) was your first group?
        Same here, I like JYJ’s music because it’s coming straight from them so it has a personal touch. As for the Duo, I only like the KYHD album. I don’t like the albums that comes right after. They sounds generic and more of those annoying beats. This is one of the reasons why I hope the Duo would leave SMe (but that’s impossible. Aside from the contract, YH is SMe’s golden boy). The company is not doing good in handling them ever since the break up. 😦 But I prefer their Japanese Albums. The songs are way better. ^^
        I thought it’s just my delusional brain that thinks Jaejoong is still sad until now but I guess Its not. I don’t know if having a girlfriend would cure that loneliness inside of him. He did date a lot especially in 2010 but it doesn’t doing any good to him. he worries me a lot. -_____-
        I will surely look forward for your next posts especially regarding about Changmin. It’s been a long time since the last time I’ve read something about JYJ. As for the nasty Lawsuit, I have a lot of crazy thoughts about it. Sometimes, I think the separation was planned. But that’s it.

      • No, actually, it started with Jang Geun Suk, the actor, then it went to Jung Yong Hwa. Because of him, CNBLUE was my first KPop band, then 2PM…which I’ve lost interest in… It wasn’t until I saw a video of “Doushite…” did I fall for KJJ’s voice and how he sings with his whole body. As for how I address them, I use DBSK as the five, TVXQ as the two. JYJ stands alone. I don’t like any of SuJu’s offerings, but EXO doesn’t seem too bad. I prefer BTOB to EXO, though. I don’t like any female KPop stars. Currently, Jung Joon Young is someone I watch for.
        You are right. That’s the reason I’m biased with JYJ. They write their own songs. In this, they infuse themselves into the song. No matter how small, the emotions are there. And so, I like them just that much better. Like CNBLUE, I look for artists that stand out. Or singers that stand out. I like Big Bang and G-Dragon for his talent in putting out rhyme and synth music. But ballads, OMG!!! Kim Jaejoong’s compositions are too emotionally charged. That’s why I believe he’s still broken. Sad. JAG and Rotten Love just points to it. The way he looks, the way he drags on cigarettes, the way he drinks… They’re classic signs of someone with a lot they want to forget. Also, someone that beautiful, I know he’s been seen as a sexual object and been sexualized far too much, too soon… And for all we know, casting couches could be the ultimate sacrifice for a dream.
        Did they renew their contracts? I thought SME timed it so that when the two went to the military, it would end.

        What I do see in KJJ is that incredible strength. He is a survivor. Broken, full of needs, with a void nothing can fill, but a strong determination to survive. And I’m placing my hope on that small thread. I hope to one day compare him and Marilyn. I just hope he doesn’t end up like she did.

  2. No information regarding the renewal so I don’t really know. What I know is that they cut the period of the contract due to the lawsuit but no one knows when they will come to end.
    Exactly, that’s how I feel about Jaejoong. That’s why it bothers me so much. I don’t know if that past has something to do with the break up but his depression started right after, I believe 2010- 2011 were the most emotional years for him. That year was all but a tired-looking alcoholic jaejoong I’ve seen. He’s so depressed that a lot of fans were worried that he might commit suicide ( Crazy? but that’s true.) due to sad and sometimes vague tweets. I like most of his compositions especially the ballads but I cannot stand listening to them because the emotions were just too strong for me to handle. I feel like I was torn into pieces.
    I have no idea if CM will enlist this year. I’ve only heard of Yunho, though.

    • Apparently, JYJ is also set to go. 10 years was their anniversary. So their contract should have ended. As you noticed no sound about renewals. But SM invested heavily into EXO. And they’re focusing on them more and more. Idols do not last long and if they have illusions of longevity, they’re crazy. Actors though, they go a very long time.

      That’s what drew me to Jaejoong. That angst. It’s raw pain dripping out and you feel it. It makes him so remarkable.

  3. PS. Singers can sing. There are plenty of them out there. Shim Changmin sings nicely. He’s got that voice range. However, he’s mediocre when compared to Kim Jaejoong. And why? Because Kim Jae Joong draws you in. He makes you feel the emotions underlying the words being sung. And it wrings out a human response.

  4. HI THERE, so I’ve just stumble upon your articles her and I like what I see very much so. I’m also a YunJae/JaeHo fan, and love JYJ more (because KJJ is my bias). Doushite and KJJ voice made me a fan of then in 2012, dangerous Love throttle me and killed me reviving me into a YunJae shipper. I’m more of a really relax Shipper, but listening to Yunho November with Love and the lyrics just mess with my mind. The don’t leave me part, just arghhhhhh!!!!
    I agree with your way of thinking. It’s like we think the same way.
    I wouldn’t mind of YunJae wasn’t real, I hate not knowing if they’re real or not. Sometimes I feel like there is no disputing it, they’re real, but others I’m like I wish they were real (because I be the first to support them-after millions and millions of Yunjae shippers). I feel like they’re fifty fifty on the real side. But yeah.
    I seriously wish of they were real they come out. I mean, they have sooooooo much shippers! It’s crazy! We would love them ever more and give then more support than, and no one could bitch about them(we would turn rabid on them :D). Oh well, wishful thinking.

    • Thank you for reading. Love KJJ’s voice! It’s like drinking a B52. The layers are great by themselves, but together… ooh lethal… I think Doushite the 2008 outdoor concert is the one that highlights his phenomenal voice best. The changes in intonation, in texture….. Aaarggh! The new Triangle OST does it again. But the YunJae thing just makes me want to forward life to see if they get together, you know?

      There are a lot of support, but there are the delusional people, too. I think they fear their future without their agencies. And possibly their parental units’ reaction.

      Thanks for reading and commenting again! Keep reading.

  5. If JJ would be happy, then it’s okay with this relationship. I’m not a JJ’s bias (I’m YUCHUN’s bias and I like JYJ). Let see what the future will be about them and, of course, about TVXQ5.

    • I love Yuchunnie!!! But JJ is so… Dynamic… Yuchunnie and JJ, I think, suffered the same kind of past, so I think that’s why they understand each other so well. And they deal with it in the same way, heavy smoking and heavier drinking. I’m familiar with their kind is social drinking because it’s a dynamic that’s ingrained in the male populace of Asian countries. Having grown up in Asia and then moving to US, I saw two sides. I think that he’s too broken over not being with the other two. There is a story that’s woven beneath the surface and I’m sure its painful. And they look towards cigarettes and drink to fill it.
      So when they’re in their 40s they all look like JYP. Ugh…

      • Yes, JJ – Dynamic, elegant and playful. YC – quiet, simple, good athlete but convenient. Both are good professional and a good team, even a pair (Gemini-Aquarius).
        Oh, no like JYP. JYP is ugly, but I think is smart. His artists knows english, sport, martial arts, acting lessons, japanese. No plastic surgery for them, only talent and he is working with their talent.

      • We will see about JYP’s genius. But he has actually opened KPOP to other people from other countries. Which is good for South Korea.

        But people drinking and smoking like Chunnie and Jaejoongie… They’ll start looking like him soon if the don’t cut back…. Smokers look older than their age. Really…

    • LOL! Have you seen the pictures of regular South Korean men in their 30s? OMG!!!! I couldn’t believe it.
      And then you see the heads of all of the entertainment industry bigwigs. Seriously? They used to be idols! Like JYJ and TVX2! And they look…. Hella old! Those were idols? Like when? In the 30s?

Leave a Reply

