Heartbreak

The car didn’t start right
I should have known
The wind was awfully light
And frigid cold blowin’
There was sun, I think
Right by the kitchen sink
It was hot, that day
I didn’t want to stay
There was something bothering
The back of my throat
I coughed, wondering
If there was a boat
That could take me somewhere
Far beyond there
My eyes were prickly
Must be the pollen
My head was sickly
Headache all of a sudden
There lay on my breast
A heavier burden
Ah, a pillow to rest
My will that’s fallen
How absurd, how absurd!
Have you heard?
The quiet thud of a heart
Breaking apart?
 
 
 
RhB 20112209
 

12 thoughts on “Heartbreak

  1. “Ah, a pillow to rest
    My will that’s fallen
    How absurd, how absurd!
    Have you heard?
    The quiet thud of a heart
    Breaking apart?”

    A timeless theme, yet freshly penned here.
    Lovin’ it.

    When I read the first two lines:

    “The car didn’t start right
    I should have known”

    For some reason, Joni Mitchell’s
    “Car on a Hill” came to me.

    Okay, Now I must go and listen to that song for the thousandth time…

    Beautiful writing RhB.
    Thank you.
    -Lancer

Leave a Reply

