The Excuses we Make

I have listened to an elder
And the things I have done
Made him sigh and say
“If only I was younger…
I’m old now…My youth is gone… “
But if you truly wanted
I wanted to say
You would find a way.
 
I listened as they talked
Of people they wanted to be
And places they wanted to see
“But dreams are dreams
And not reality.
These things… they just cannot be.”
But if they had truly wanted
I wanted to say
They could find a way.
 
There are so many people
In this world of people
With many dreams and wishes
And things remembered
And things regretted
And all I can say
If you truly wanted
You would have found a way.
 
 
RhB 201402190857A

2 thoughts on “The Excuses we Make

Leave a Reply

