Color

I am black
As the midnight sun
As the staining sin
Against the white I lack

I am white
As the noonday moon
As the purest air
Against the black I’m fair

In my world I stand
Betwixt between
A narrow mindedness
Of stone and sand

I am brown
A mix of the two
Wavering, vacillating
Between me and you

Ah, how I long for a world
That would allow me
To be this perfect color
Between and not quite
For when I am white
I long to be darker
And when I am black
I long to be whiter
There is a perfect mix
Of black and white
It is called brown
And yet still, in the eyes
Of those who see
And look at me
I am purest black
And still sullied white.

Leave a Reply

